The Effing Ineffable

When I was five I discovered scores of garter snakes in a drainage ditch in front of my house.  I remember the visceral joy of being with them as they coiled around my nearly naked body in the humid summer.
We were at peace together in the creation….. in the cool mud…. under the warm sun.  I was fully and naturally exultant.

jellyfishIn that same time of life, I came upon many glistening, iridescent jellyfish on the beach in the cove through the mossyferny woods.  I remember clearly being full with them. Was them.
I said, “Ohhhhhh….”

Remembering, I feel an old man’s tears.

Then I was free of the need to understand myself.   There was an absence of even the idea of needing to analyze my motivations for action, the affect my actions might have or might have had on the world.  I just was myself moving within my environment.

This seems to me to be the freedom we may all seek to recover.  To return  to the experience of simply and completely tasting/swallowing/being in each moment.
To Do, without the shoulds and coulds and woulds, without judgement, analysis, comparison.
Before the knowledge of good and evil, we are without fear or shame or words ……

 

Leave a comment